The Innovation Council

The Innovation Council is the specialist body of Innosuisse. It makes decisions on funding applications and supports the execution of the funding activities in an academic and innovative sense. It also develops suggestions for the funding strategy and instruments to be approved by the Board. To carry out its work, the Innovation Council makes use of a pool of experts.

In its selection of innovation councillors, the Innovation Council focuses on personalities that have an excellent track record in innovation, who are professionally active and can put their experience to the best use for its tasks for Innosuisse. The Innovation Council also has a diverse composition in a cultural sense: Nine members work in German-speaking Switzerland, seven in Romandy, two in Ticino and one member works abroad. 

The members of the Innovation Council are elected for a service period of four years.



  • Bernhard Eschermann, ABB Group

Vice Chairman

  • Alois Zwinggi, World Economic Forum


  • Reinhard J. Ambros, former Head Novartis Venture Fund
  • Jean-Luc Bazin, Swatch Group
  • David Brown, Angel Investor
  • Nicoletta Casanova, FEMTOprint SA
  • Christophe Copéret, ETH Zürich
  • Bettina Ernst, Proponent Biotech GmbH
  • Christine Demen-Meier, Les Roches Global Hospitality Education
  • Alisée De Tonnac, Seedstars SA
  • Clemens Dransfeld, FHNW Fachhochschule Nordwestschweiz
  • Frédéric Hemmer, CERN – The European Organisation for Nuclear Research
  • Renat Heuberger, South Pole Group
  • Emanuela Keller, Universitätsspital Zürich
  • Massimo Lucchina, Samsung Electronics
  • Adriano Nasciuti, SUPSI – Scuola universitaria professionale della Svizzera italiana
  • Thomas Puschmann, Swiss FinTech Innovation Lab
  • Philippe Renaud, EPFL Lausanne
  • Kelly Richdale, ID Quantique SA
  • Christoph Rüttimann, Bystronic Group
  • Stelio Tzonis, digital-strategy
  • Anja Wyden Guelpa, civicLab Ltd

Vested interests

Further information

Last modification 11.10.2019

Top of page



Innosuisse Einsteinstrasse 2
3003 Bern
+41 58 461 61 61


Print contact