The Innovation Council

The Innovation Council is the specialised body of Innosuisse that is at the centre of the agency’s innovation promotion activities. The main duty of the Innovation Council is to review, analyse and take decisions on funding applications and to support the execution of funding activities. To carry out its work, the Innovation Council has access to a pool of experts with dedicated specialties. The Innovation Council also plays a key role in drafting the funding strategy to be approved by the Board of Innosuisse.

In its selection of innovation councillors, the Board of Directors focuses on personalities that have an excellent track record in innovation, who are professionally active and can put their experience to the best use for its tasks for Innosuisse. The Innovation Council also has a diverse composition in a cultural sense: twelve members work in German-speaking Switzerland, nine in Romandy, and two each in Ticino and abroad. 

The members of the Innovation Council are elected for a period of four years.



  • Christoph Rüttimann, Bystronic Group

Vice Chairman

  • Leila Schwery, Cilag GmbH International


  • Gaëlle Andreatta, Apheros
  • David Brown, Logan Brown Sàrl
  • Nicoletta Casanova, FEMTOprint SA
  • Nathalie Casas, EMPA
  • Toufann Chaudhuri, DLMS User Association
  • Elena Cortona, Belimo Automation
  • Alethia De Leon, Senes Science GmbH
  • Nicolas Demartines, CHUV
  • Bettina Ernst, PRECLIN Biosystems AG
  • Vanina Farber, IMD
  • Nicole Herzog, Agilentia AG (Sherpany)
  • Renat Heuberger, South Pole Group
  • Samira Jafari, Dätwyler Schweiz AG
  • Malick Kane, Swiss University of Applied Sciences of Western Switzerland (HES-SO)
  • Christian Lovis, University of Geneva (UNIGE) and Geneva University Hospital (HUG)
  • Claudia Pletscher, Metall Zug AG
  • Thomas Puschmann, Swiss FinTech Innovation Lab
  • Silvia Quarteroni, Swiss Data Science Center
  • Raphael M. Reischuk, Zühlke
  • Philippe Renaud, ETH Lausanne
  • Gisbert Schneider, ETH Zurich and Singapore-ETH Centre
  • Stelio Tzonis, Eduxia SA

Vested interests

Thematic and cross-thematic units of the Innovation Council and the tasks assigned to them

Further information

Last modification 05.01.2024

Top of page



Innosuisse Einsteinstrasse 2
3003 Bern
+41 58 461 61 61


Print contact