Innovation as the key driver of sustainable food supply

Foodtech-Innosuisse-EN

When it comes to innovation, foodtech is an inescapable trend in Switzerland today. From robotics, to blockchain, to biochemistry, food companies and start-ups are using research and new technologies to empower consumers to change their eating habits, improve agricultural productivity, reduce waste and respond more effectively to current sustainability values.

Every year, no less than CHF 2.6 billion is invested in food innovation in our country, according to the Swiss Food & Nutrition Valley initiative. A recent study shows that Switzerland is at the forefront of several trends in this sector. Agritech, for example, has developed in leaps and bounds in the last few years. Drones, automated irrigation and disease prediction software are now used to minimise the consumption of resources, increase crop yields and control disease. In the field of food science, new ingredients and products are being researched and developed. Alternative proteins mean that foodstuffs such as meat can be grown in the laboratory in a sustainable and ethical manner. In parallel, the deployment of blockchain is being used to strengthen the traceability of food ingredients along the supply chain. Further solutions are in the pipeline in the area of catering services, food delivery and food waste to improve the management of restaurants, develop new ways of ordering or reduce waste at the industrial level.

Innosuisse is committed to supporting innovative projects in the field of foodtech and aims to stimulate the thoughts and actions of industrial and research partners in this field. Since last year, it has been supporting the Innovation Booster Swiss Food Ecostystem to explore current challenges in the agrifood sector and develop radically new solutions in interdisciplinary teams. This approach is complemented by other approaches, such as the Networking Event Series Business In Sustainable Foodtech and Swiss Food Research, which give players interested in the topic the opportunity to meet and exchange ideas during specific events. At the same time, Innosuisse supports numerous innovation projects and promotes start-ups active in foodtech. For its director, Annalise Eggimann, it is crucial to innovate in this field, because it is an issue that concerns us all. “We need to be aware of the impact of our consumption patterns. Sustainable food production is a major challenge in Switzerland and worldwide. New technologies offer SMEs and start-ups the means to develop innovative solutions and new business models that have a positive impact on the agrifood ecosystem."


Non-exhaustive overview of companies supported by Innosuisse within the framework of innovation projects or coaching:


Foodtech and Innosuisse

planted-foodtech

Planted

Planted has been producing plant-based meat derived from pea protein since 2019. The Zurich-based company’s products are sold throughout Switzerland. To convince even more meat eaters to take the plunge into a “meat-free world”, Planted has teamed up with ZHAW to develop more appetising products.

peter-braun-foodtech

Interview with Peter Braun, agri-food engineer

Producing food more sustainably thanks to technology. This is how the future of our food supply needs to be shaped, according to Peter Braun, Manager of the Swiss Food Ecosystems Innovation Booster. When it comes to food technology, Switzerland still has room for improvement. Read the interview.

Vivatech-encadré

Spotlight on Swiss foodtech in Paris

Swiss foodtech start-ups had the opportunity to introduce themselves to an international audience in Paris in mid-June. Thanks to Innosuisse and its programme of participation in international trade fairs, several new companies were able to take part in Viva Technology.

Innovation-booster-foodtech

Innovation Booster

Innovation Boosters are four-year initiatives to support, through open innovation, the transfer of knowledge and working with partners along the entire value chain of a theme. Using design thinking methods, the NTN Innovation Boosters help participants jointly identify and research problems and to develop radical, new solutions in interdisciplinary teams.

networking-event-series-foodtech

Networking Event Series

The aim of the Networking Event Series is to bring together people from research, business and society and along the entire value chain to focus on one theme. The event itself is centred around transferring knowledge and networking and may also include the generation of ideas around a common issue.

Last modification 08.08.2022

Top of page

Contact

Communication Innosuisse

Eliane Kersten
Tel. +41 58 464 19 95

Lukas Krienbühl
Tel. +41 58 481 84 73

E-mail

Print contact

https://www.innosuisse.ch/content/inno/en/home/success-stories/foodtech.html

L’innovation comme outil pour notre alimentation

Foodtech-Innosuisse-FR

En matière d’innovation, la foodtech est une tendance incontournable en Suisse aujourd’hui. De la robotique, à la blockchain en passant par la biochimie, les entreprises et les start-up du domaine alimentaire font appel à la recherche et aux nouvelles technologies pour permettre aux consommateurs de s’alimenter différemment, d’améliorer la productivité agricole, de réduire le gaspillage ou de mieux répondre aux valeurs de durabilité actuelles.

Chaque année, pas moins de 2,6 milliards de francs sont investis dans l’innovation alimentaire dans notre pays, selon l’initiative Swiss Food & Nutrition Valley. Une récente étude montre que la Suisse est à l'avant-garde de nombreuses tendances dans ce secteur. L'agritech s'est ainsi beaucoup développée ces dernières années. Le recours aux drones, à l'irrigation automatisée et à des logiciels de prévision des maladies sont ainsi utilisés pour minimiser la consommation des ressources, augmenter le rendement des cultures et lutter contre les maladies. Dans le domaine de la science alimentaire, de nouveaux ingrédients et produits sont développés. Grâce aux protéines alternatives, la viande peut par exemple être cultivée en laboratoire de manière durable et éthique. En parallèle, le déploiement de la blockchain est utilisé pour renforcer la traçabilité des ingrédients alimentaires dans la chaîne d’approvisionnement. D’autres solutions sont encore développées en matière de services de restauration, de livraison de nourriture ou de gaspillage alimentaire, pour améliorer la gestion de restaurants, développer de nouveaux modes de commandes ou encore réduire les déchets au niveau industriel.

Innosuisse s’engage pour soutenir des projets innovants en matière de foodtech et veut susciter les réflexions et les actions des partenaires industriels et de recherches dans ce domaine. Depuis l’an dernier, elle soutient l’Innovation Booster Swiss Food Ecostystem qui permet d’explorer les défis qui se posent actuellement dans le secteur agro-alimentaire et de développer des solutions radicalement nouvelles au sein d'équipes interdisciplinaires. D’autres programmes complètent cette approche, comme les Networking Event Series Business In Sustainable Foodtech et Swiss Food Research qui permettent aux acteurs concernés par la thématique de se retrouver et d’échanger lors d’événements spécifiques. Innosuisse soutient parallèlement de nombreux projets d’innovation et encourage des start-up actives dans la foodtech. Pour sa directrice, Annalise Eggimann, il est essentiel d’innover dans un domaine qui nous concerne toutes et tous. «Nous devons prendre conscience de l’impact de nos modes de consommation. Une production alimentaire durable est aujourd’hui un enjeu majeur en Suisse comme au niveau mondial. Les nouvelles technologies offrent aux PME et aux start-up le moyen de développer des solutions novatrices et de nouveaux modèles d’affaires ayant un impact positif sur l’écosystème agro-alimentaire».



La foodtech et Innosuisse

planted-foodtech

Planted

Planted confectionne de la viande végétale à base de protéine de pois depuis 2019. Les produits de l’entreprise zurichoise sont vendus partout en Suisse. Pour convaincre encore plus de mangeurs de viande de sauter le pas vers le «sans viande», Planted s’est associé à la ZHAW pour développer des produits plus appétissants.

peter-braun-foodtech

Interview de Peter Braun, ingénieur agro-alimentaire

Produire de la nourriture plus durablement, grâce à la technologie. Ainsi doit se dessiner le futur de notre alimentation, selon Peter Braun, Manager de l’Innovation Booster Swiss Food Ecosystems. Dans le domaine de la foodtech, la Suisse pourrait encore mieux faire. Lire l’interview.

Vivatech-encadré

La foodtech suisse à l’honneur à Paris

Des start-up suisses actives dans le domaine de la foodtech ont eu l’opportunité de se présenter devant un public international à Paris mi-juin. Grâce notamment à Innosuisse et son programme de participation à des salons internationaux, plusieurs jeunes entreprises ont pu prendre part à Viva Technology.

Innovation-booster-foodtech

Innovation Booster

Les Innovation Booster sont des initiatives d’une durée de quatre ans qui, au moyen d’Open Innovation, soutiennent le transfert de connaissances et la collaboration avec des partenaires tout au long de la chaîne de création de valeur d’un thème. En utilisant les méthodes du Design Thinking, les NTN Innovation Booster aident les participant-e-s à identifier et explorer ensemble les problèmes, et à développer des solutions radicalement nouvelles au sein d’équipes interdisciplinaires.

networking-event-series-foodtech

Networking Event Series

L’objectif des Networking Event Series est de réunir des personnes issues de la recherche, de l’économie et de la société ainsi que de l’ensemble de la chaîne de création de valeur autour d’un même thème principal. Lors de l’événement lui-même, l’objectif est surtout d’avoir un transfert de connaissances et une mise en réseau, et aussi, le cas échéant, de générer des idées autour d’une problématique commune.

Dernière modification 08.08.2022

Début de la page

Contact

Communication Innosuisse

Eliane Kersten
Tél. +41 58 464 19 95

Lukas Krienbühl
Tél. +41 58 481 84 73

E-mail

Imprimer contact

https://www.innosuisse.ch/content/inno/fr/home/success-stories/foodtech.html