EUREKA: cross-border innovation

EUREKA is an independent initiative of the European Commission’s framework programmes for cross-border cooperation projects in market-oriented industrial R&D. The aim of this initiative is to strengthen the member countries’ competitiveness.

This is how EUREKA works.

Under the EUREKA programme, research projects with clear market relevance are elaborated and conducted bottom-up. For SMEs, which presently account for half the partners, this initiative is especially important. Thanks to EUREKA, they can carry out projects efficiently and reap the benefits of international cooperation (networking, cost savings and visibility). They also gain easy access to the European market.

To ensure better coverage of market needs, so-called network projects, cluster initiatives and the Eurostars initiative were developed within the EUREKA network. Clusters are long-term strategic industry initiatives by large companies within EUREKA. Eurostars 2 supports cross-border projects by research-intensive SMEs (see separate description).

Between 1985 and 2015, industry and public authorities spent around EUR 36 billion on 5700 EUREKA projects. The number of new projects per year rose continually from about 50 in 1985 to roughly 300 in 2015. Since the beginning of the initiative, company participation in EUREKA projects has been 70%, with SMEs’ participation rocketing from 5% to over 50% between 1985 and the present.

The cross-national EUREKA initiative was set up in 1985, with Switzerland among the founding members. EUREKA now includes over 40 member countries across Europe along with the four extra-European members South Korea, Canada, South Africa and Chile. Each country is represented by its ministry in charge of innovation and by an innovation funding body.

Who can submit a EUREKA project?

Consortia comprising Swiss universities of applied sciences, companies and at least one partner from a EUREKA country can apply to Innosuisse for funding. Firms can also take part in EUREKA projects with self-funding.

EUREKA network projects can be submitted at any time. To apply, use the EUREKA form or contact the Swiss project coordinator (see contact box on the right).

Who can submit a EUREKA cluster project?

EUREKA clusters are directed and co-funded by large companies. Their aim is to build platforms for future key technologies with a view to bolstering European competitiveness. EUREKA clusters usually publish a theme-based call for project proposals once a year. These calls can be accessed on the websites of the individual clusters. Consortia comprising Swiss universities of applied sciences, companies and at least one partner from a EUREKA country can apply to Innosuisse for funding. Firms can also take part in EUREKA projects with self-funding.

Further information on EUREKA clusters.

EUREKA / Photonics21 Mirror Group Call 2019

  • Call launch: March 25th, 2019
  • Submission deadline for EUREKA and
  • Innosuisse pre-proposal applications: July 25th, 2019
  • Evaluation of the applications: August - November 2019
  • Communication of the results: December 2019
  • Start of projects: Between January and June 2020

Find all Call documents here (PDF, 260 kB, 25.03.2019) and for further information to fulfill the national requirements please follow this link here (PDF, 1 MB, 28.03.2019).

EUREKA Network – Artificial Intelligence / Quantum Technology Call 2019

The call is aimed at consortia of research institutions and companies from Switzerland, Belgium, Denmark, Israel, Canada, Austria, Spain, South-Korea, Turkey and the UK who want to jointly implement a science-based innovation project. Only two partnering countries have to be involved in a project.

In Switzerland, the participants have to submit the application as described hier. Please mark in the title “EUREKA AI/QT Project”.

Note that a EUREKA Network form has to be added along with annexe 1 (DOC, 14 kB, 01.05.2019) and annexe 2 (XLS, 10 kB, 01.05.2019).

The following dates are binding:

  • Call launch: April 1, 2019
  • Submission deadline for EUREKA and Innosuisse applications: July 1, 2019
  • Communication of the results: December 2019
  • Start of projects: Between January and June 2020

Information on scope, eligibility criteria, call procedure as well as funding rules can be found in the EUREKA Network AI QT Call 2019 (PDF, 1 MB, 01.05.2019) document.

Last modification 16.05.2019

Top of page

Contact

EUREKA Project Coordinator Switzerland
Colette John-Grant
+41 58 466 77 32

E-Mail

Eurostars 2 Project Coordinator Switzerland
Janique Siffert
+41 58 466 70 70

E-Mail

Print contact

index

HandInMind: an example of partnership

A European consortium found a way for stroke patients to recover dexterity in affected hands and arms. Read all about this partnership here (PDF, 219 kB, 16.05.2019).  

https://www.innosuisse.ch/content/inno/en/home/go-global/EUREKA.html

EUREKA: innovation transnationale

EUREKA est une initiative indépendante des programmes-cadres de la Commission européenne qui soutient des projets de coopération transnationaux de recherche et de développement industriel axés sur le marché. Son objectif est de renforcer la compétitivité des États membres.

Eureka fonctionne ainsi.

Dans le cadre d’EUREKA, des projets de recherche répondant clairement aux attentes du marché sont élaborés et appliqués selon le principe «de bas en haut» (bottom-up). L’initiative EUREKA revêt une grande importance tout spécialement pour les PME, qui constituent de nos jours la moitié de ses partenaires. Grâce à EUREKA, celles-ci peuvent élaborer des projets transnationaux de manière efficace et profiter des retombées positives de la collaboration internationale (réseautage, abaissement des coûts et visibilité). Par ailleurs, elles bénéficient d’un accès aisé au marché européen.

Dans un souci de meilleure couverture des besoins du marché, des projets de réseau, des clusters ainsi que l’initiative Eurostars ont été développés au sein du réseau EUREKA. Les clusters sont des initiatives industrielles stratégiques à long terme de grandes entreprises au sein d’EUREKA. Eurostars-2 promeut les projets transnationaux de PME très actives dans le domaine de la recherche (voir descriptif).

Entre 1985 et 2015, l’industrie et les pouvoirs publics ont dépensé environ 36 milliards d’euros pour 5700 projets EUREKA. Le nombre de nouveaux projets a augmenté continuellement d’environ 50 par an en 1985 à près de 300 par an en 2015. Alors que la participation de l’ensemble des entreprises à des projets EUREKA s’élève à 70% depuis le lancement de l’initiative, le pourcentage des PME est passé, lui, de 5% à plus de 50% entre 1985 et aujourd’hui.

L’initiative interétatique EUREKA a été créé en 1985. La Suisse a fait partie des membres fondateurs. EUREKA compte actuellement plus de 40 membres européens et les quatre membres associés que sont la Corée du Sud, le Canada, l’Afrique du Sud et le Chili. Chaque pays est représenté par son ministère chargé de l’innovation et son organisme d’encouragement de l’innovation.

Qui peut soumettre un projet EUREKA?

Les consortiums constitués de hautes écoles et d’entreprises suisses ainsi que d’au moins un partenaire issu d’un pays membre d’EUREKA peuvent déposer une demande d’encouragement auprès d’Innosuisse. Les entreprises peuvent aussi participer à des projets EUREKA en autofinancement.

Les projets de réseau EUREKA peuvent être déposés à tout moment. Veuillez pour ce faire utiliser le formulaire EUREKA ou contacter la coordinatrice des projets Suisse (voir encadré «Contact», à droite).

Qui peut soumettre un cluster EUREKA?

Les clusters EUREKA sont menés et financés conjointement avec de grandes entreprises. L’objectif est de créer des plateformes pour de futures technologies clés visant à renforcer la compétitivité européenne. Les clusters EUREKA publient en général une fois par an un appel à projets thématique sur leurs sites Internet respectifs. Les consortiums constitués de hautes écoles et d’entreprises suisses ainsi que d’au moins un partenaire issu d’un pays membre d’EUREKA peuvent déposer une demande d’encouragement auprès d’Innosuisse. Les entreprises peuvent aussi participer à des projets EUREKA en autofinancement.

Autres informations concernant les clusters EUREKA

Appel d'offre EUREKA / Photonics21 Mirror Group 2019

  • Lancement de l'appel: 25 mars 2019
  • Délai de dépos de la demande Innosuisse (pre-proposal): 10 juillet 2019
  • Délai de dépos de la demande EUREKA: 25 juillet 2019
  • Evaluation de la demande: août - novembre 2019
  • Communication des résultats: décembre 2019
  • Commencement des projets: Entre janvier et juin 2020

Tous les documents nécessaires se trouvent ici (PDF, 260 kB, 25.03.2019) et trouvez ici (PDF, 1 MB, 28.03.2019) de plus amples informations sur la manière de soumettre une demande pour satisfaire les exigences nationales.

EUREKA Network Artificial Intelligence / Quantum Technology Call 2019

L'appel s'adresse aux consortiums d'instituts de recherche et d'entreprises de Suisse, de Belgique, du Danemark, d'Israël, du Canada, d'Autriche, d'Espagne, de Corée du Sud, de Turquie et du Royaume-Uni qui souhaitent réaliser conjointement un projet d'innovation scientifique. Seuls deux pays partenaires doivent être impliqués dans un projet.

En Suisse, les participants doivent soumettre la demande telle qu'elle est décrite ici. Veuillez indiquer dans le titre "Projet EUREKA AI/QT".

Veuillez noter qu'un formulaire du réseau EUREKA doit être ajouté avec l'annexe 1 (DOC, 14 kB, 01.05.2019) et l'annexe 2 (XLS, 10 kB, 01.05.2019).

Les dates suivantes sont obligatoires:

  • Lancement de l'appel: 1er avril 2019
  • Date limite de soumission pour les projets EUREKA et applications Innosuisse: 1er juillet 2019
  • Communication des résultats: Décembre 2019
  • Début des projets: Entre janvier et juin 2020

Des informations sur le champ d'application, les critères d'éligibilité, la procédure d'appel ainsi que les règles de financement sont disponibles dans le document EUREKA Network AI QT Call 2019 (PDF, 1 MB, 01.05.2019).

Dernière modification 27.05.2019

Début de la page

Contact

Coordinatrice des projets EUREKA Suisse
Colette John-Grant
+41 58 466 77 32

E-Mail

Coordinateur des projets Eurostars-2 Suisse
Janique Siffert
+41 58 466 70 70

E-Mail

Imprimer contact

index

HandInMind: un exemple de partenariat

Un consortium européen a trouvé un moyen pour les patients victimes d'AVC de retrouver leur dextérité dans les mains et les bras affectés. Pour en savoir plus sur ce partenariat, cliquez ici (PDF, 219 kB, 16.05.2019).

https://www.innosuisse.ch/content/inno/fr/home/go-global/EUREKA.html