EUREKA: cross-border innovation

EUREKA is an independent initiative of the European Commission’s framework programmes for cross-border cooperation projects in market-oriented industrial R&D. The aim of this initiative is to strengthen the member countries’ competitiveness.

This is how EUREKA works.

Under the EUREKA programme, research projects with clear market relevance are elaborated and conducted bottom-up. For SMEs, which presently account for half the partners, this initiative is especially important. Thanks to EUREKA, they can carry out projects efficiently and reap the benefits of international cooperation (networking, cost savings and visibility). They also gain easy access to the European market.

To ensure better coverage of market needs, so-called network projects, cluster initiatives and the Eurostars initiative were developed within the EUREKA network. Clusters are long-term strategic industry initiatives by large companies within EUREKA. Eurostars 2 supports cross-border projects by research-intensive SMEs (see separate description).

Between 1985 and 2015, industry and public authorities spent around EUR 36 billion on 5700 EUREKA projects. The number of new projects per year rose continually from about 50 in 1985 to roughly 300 in 2015. Since the beginning of the initiative, company participation in EUREKA projects has been 70%, with SMEs’ participation rocketing from 5% to over 50% between 1985 and the present.

The cross-national EUREKA initiative was set up in 1985, with Switzerland among the founding members. EUREKA now includes over 40 member countries across Europe along with the four extra-European members South Korea, Canada, South Africa and Chile. Each country is represented by its ministry in charge of innovation and by an innovation funding body.

Who can submit a EUREKA project?

Consortia comprising Swiss universities of applied sciences, companies and at least one partner from a EUREKA country can apply to Innosuisse for funding. Firms can also take part in EUREKA projects with self-funding.

EUREKA network projects can be submitted at any time. To apply, use the EUREKA form or contact the Swiss project coordinator (see contact box on the right).

Who can submit a EUREKA cluster project?

EUREKA clusters are directed and co-funded by large companies. Their aim is to build platforms for future key technologies with a view to bolstering European competitiveness. EUREKA clusters usually publish a theme-based call for project proposals once a year. These calls can be accessed on the websites of the individual clusters. Consortia comprising Swiss universities of applied sciences, companies and at least one partner from a EUREKA country can apply to Innosuisse for funding. Firms can also take part in EUREKA projects with self-funding.

Further information on EUREKA clusters.

EUREKA / Photonics21 Mirror Group Call 2019

  • Call launch: March 25th, 2019
  • Submission deadline for EUREKA and
  • Innosuisse pre-proposal applications: July 25th, 2019
  • Evaluation of the applications: August - November 2019
  • Communication of the results: December 2019
  • Start of projects: Between January and June 2020

Find all Call documents here (PDF, 260 kB, 25.03.2019) and for further information to fulfill the national requirements please follow this link here (PDF, 1 MB, 28.03.2019).

EUREKA Network – Artificial Intelligence / Quantum Technology Call 2019

The call is aimed at consortia of research institutions and companies from Switzerland, Belgium, Denmark, Israel, Canada, Austria, Spain, South-Korea, Turkey and the UK who want to jointly implement a science-based innovation project. Only two partnering countries have to be involved in a project.

In Switzerland, the participants have to submit the application as described hier. Please mark in the title “EUREKA AI/QT Project”.

Note that a EUREKA Network form has to be added along with annexe 1 (DOC, 14 kB, 01.05.2019) and annexe 2 (XLS, 10 kB, 01.05.2019).

The following dates are binding:

  • Call launch: April 1, 2019
  • Submission deadline for EUREKA and Innosuisse applications: July 1, 2019
  • Communication of the results: December 2019
  • Start of projects: Between January and June 2020

Information on scope, eligibility criteria, call procedure as well as funding rules can be found in the EUREKA Network AI QT Call 2019 (PDF, 1 MB, 01.05.2019) document.

Last modification 16.05.2019

Top of page

Contact

EUREKA Project Coordinator Switzerland
Colette John-Grant
+41 58 466 77 32

E-Mail

Eurostars 2 Project Coordinator Switzerland
Janique Siffert
+41 58 466 70 70

E-Mail

Print contact

index

HandInMind: an example of partnership

A European consortium found a way for stroke patients to recover dexterity in affected hands and arms. Read all about this partnership here (PDF, 219 kB, 16.05.2019).  

https://www.innosuisse.ch/content/inno/en/home/go-global/EUREKA.html

EUREKA: grenzüberschreitende Innovation

EUREKA ist eine von den Rahmenprogrammen der Europäischen Kommission unabhängige Initiative für grenzüberschreitende Kooperationsprojekte in marktorientierter industrieller Forschung und Entwicklung (F&E). Die Initiative hat das Ziel, die Wettbewerbsfähigkeit der Mitgliedsländer zu stärken.

So funktioniert Eureka.  

Im Rahmen von EUREKA werden Forschungsprojekte mit einem klaren Marktbezug nach dem Bottom-up-Prinzip ausgearbeitet und durchgeführt. Insbesondere für KMU, die heute die Hälfte der Partner ausmachen, ist die Initiative von grosser Bedeutung. Sie können dank EUREKA grenzüberschreitende Projekte auf effiziente Weise abwickeln und von den positiven Effekten der internationalen Zusammenarbeit (Vernetzung, Kostensenkung und Visibilität) profitieren. Zudem erhalten sie einfachen Zugang zum europäischen Markt.

Zur verbesserten Bedürfnisabdeckung des Marktes wurden innerhalb des EUREKA-Netzwerks sogenannte Netzwerk-Projekte, Cluster-Initiativen sowie die Initiative Eurostars aufgebaut. Cluster sind langfristig angelegte strategische Industrieinitiativen grosser Unternehmen innerhalb von EUREKA. Eurostars-2 fördert grenzüberschreitende Projekte von forschungsintensiven KMU (siehe separate Beschreibung).

Zwischen 1985 und 2015 wendeten die Industrie und die öffentliche Hand ca. 36 Mia. Euro für 5700 EUREKA-Projekte auf. Die Zahl der neuen Projekte pro Jahr ist von ca. 50 im Jahr 1985 auf gegen 300 im Jahr 2015 kontinuierlich angewachsen. Die Beteiligung von Unternehmen an Eureka Projekten beträgt seit Beginn der Initiative 70%, wobei der KMU-Anteil von 1985 bis heute von 5% auf über 50% angestiegen ist.

Die zwischenstaatliche EUREKA Initiative wurde 1985 gegründet. Die Schweiz war Gründungsmitglied. EUREKA umfasst heute über 40 europäische Mitgliedsländer und die vier aussereuropäischen Mitgliedsländer Südkorea, Kanada, Süd Afrika und Chile. Jedes Land ist mit seinem für Innovation zuständigen Ministerium und seiner Innovationsförderstelle vertreten.

Wer kann ein EUREKA-Projekt einreichen?

Konsortien aus Schweizer Hochschulen und Unternehmen sowie mindestens einem Partner aus einem EUREKA-Land können bei Innosuisse eine Förderung beantragen. Firmen können auch selbstfinanziert an EUREKA-Projekten teilnehmen.

EUREKA Netzwerk-Projekte können zu jeder Zeit eingereicht werden. Nutzen Sie dazu das EUREKA-Formular oder kontaktieren Sie die Projektkoordinatorin Schweiz (siehe Kontaktbox rechts).

 

Wer kann ein EUREKA-Cluster-Projekt einreichen?

EUREKA Cluster werden von grossen Unternehmen angeführt und mitfinanziert. Ziel ist, Plattformen für zukünftige Schlüsseltechnologien zur Stärkung der europäischen Konkurrenzfähigkeit zu bilden. EUREKA Cluster veröffentlichen in der Regel einmal jährlich je eine thematisch festgelegte Ausschreibung. Die Ausschreibungen werden auf den Websites der einzelnen Cluster aufgeschaltet. Konsortien aus Schweizer Hochschulen und Unternehmen sowie mindestens einem Partner aus einem EUREKA-Land können bei Innosuisse eine Förderung beantragen. Firmen können auch selbstfinanziert an EUREKA Projekten teilnehmen.

Weiterführende Informationen zu EUREKA Cluster.

EUREKA / Photonics21 Mirror Group Call 2019

  • Eröffnung der Ausschreibung: 25. März 2019
  • Frist für die Innosuisse Gesuchseingabe (Pre-proposal): 10. Juli 2019
  • Frist für die EUREKA Gesuchseingabe: 25. Juli 2019
  • Evaluation der Gesuche: August – November 2019
  • Mitteilung der Resultate: Dezember 2019
  • Start der Projekte: Zwischen Januar und Juni 2020

Finden Sie die Call-Dokumente hier (PDF, 260 kB, 25.03.2019) und erhalten Sie hier (PDF, 1 MB, 28.03.2019) weitere Informationen zur Gesuchseinreichung um die nationalen Anforderungen zu erfüllen.

EUREKA Network – Artificial Intelligence / Quantum Technology Call 2019

Die Ausschreibung richtet sich an Konsortien aus Forschungsinstitutionen und Unternehmen aus der Schweiz, Belgien, Dänemark, Israel, Kanada, Österreich, Spanien, Süd Korea, Türkei und Grossbritannien, welche ein wissenschaftsbasiertes Innovationsprojekt umsetzen wollen. Es müssen nur zwei Partnerländer am Projekt beteiligt sein.

Schweizer Partner müssen den Antrag gemäss den Richtlinien hier einreichen. Bitte den Vermerk «EUREKA AI/QT Project» im Titel aufnehmen. Im weiteren muss eine EUREKA Network Form sowie die Annexe 1 (DOC, 14 kB, 01.05.2019) und die Annexe 2 (XLS, 10 kB, 01.05.2019) dazu eingereicht werden.

Der folgende Call-Ablauf ist vorgesehen:

  • Eröffnung des Calls: April 1, 2019
  • First für die Gesuchsabgabe EUREKA und Innosuisse Antrag: July 1, 2019
  • Mitteilung der Resultate: December 2019
  • Projektstart: Januar - Juni 2020

Informationen zu Call Rahmen, Eignungskriterien, Ablauf sowie Förderregeln der Länder sind im EUREKA Network AI QT Call 2019 Dokument (PDF, 1 MB, 01.05.2019) nachzulesen.  

Letzte Änderung 27.05.2019

Zum Seitenanfang

Kontakt

EUREKA Projektkoordinatorin Schweiz
Colette John-Grant

+41 58 466 77 32

E-Mail

Eurostars-2 Projektkoordinator
Janique Siffert
+41 58 466 70 70

E-Mail

Kontaktinformationen drucken

index

HandInMind: ein Partnerschaft Beispiel

Ein Europäisches Konsortium hat eine Lösung gefunden, welche es Schlaganfallpatienten ermöglicht, ihre Arm und Hand Fertigkeiten wieder zurück zu erlangen. Hier (PDF, 219 kB, 16.05.2019) erfahren Sie mehr zu dieser Partnerschaft.  

https://www.innosuisse.ch/content/inno/de/home/go-global/EUREKA.html